top of page
Picture of Phoebe Overton
Background Check

Phoebe Overton

Secondary Education English Tutor

My name's Phoebe and I'm an English tutor here at SAT - lovely to meet you!

A little about how I got to where I am now - I have a Bachelor's Degree in English Language and Linguistics from the University of York and more recently, I completed my Masters in Education at The University of Birmingham. I started my teaching career nearly five years ago, after a complete career change. Previously, I have worked in: recruitment, marketing, publishing and even tried hospitality (big fail - serving food is definitely not my forte)! However, with an unwavering passion for my subject and a great love for helping young people, teaching felt like a natural route for me to embark on. Through the TeachFirst training, I quickly rose to the challenge of juggling both teaching full time and studying. Although the experience was tough, I thrived when I was in the classroom and realised this career was so much more fulfilling and valuable to me, than anything else I had ever tried to do.


My specialism is English Language and in particular, I am an expert in writing skills. I am also the reading lead for my school, helping to improve reading ages and inspire a love for literature amongst students. Over years of teaching in secondary schools, I have taught a number of Literature texts, including An Inspector Calls, A Christmas Carol and the Shakespeare texts - Macbeth and Romeo and Juliet. I am also a specialist in poetry (unseen and Anthology based poems) and fully TEFL trained, so I can help any students who struggle to grasp the English language (from beginner to advanced needs). Across my teaching career thus far, I have experience teaching AQA, Eduqas and Edexcel, so will be able to help in any paper for these exam boards.


Aside from teaching though, I am an avid traveler and have lived in Malta, Switzerland and Germany! I enjoy learning new languages and cultures - as well as trying new foods! I am also a HUGE animal lover. Although I do not have any pets of my own right now, I hope to be surrounded by lots of dogs, cats and birds (especially a raven) very soon!

Alongside teaching full time, I've been a tutor for a couple of years now, on various platforms. Year on year, I have seen an increase of confidence in all of my students, as well as improved grades and a new found love for English, which is my favourite thing! Both in schools and online, I have helped students with dyslexia, dyspraxia, autism and many other SEN requirements, work towards their academic goals. I can help tutor all secondary school aged pupils and Year 6. Whether you need help with GCSE revision, want to increase your reading comprehension or would like to work on a particular writing skill, I am here for all your English needs and will get you to where you want and need to be. 

I can't wait to meet you and start working with you soon!

Further Qualifications

  • Basic Awareness of Child Protection Training for Education Staff

  • Online Safety for Staff and Practitioners (2021-22)

  • The Prevent Duty in Schools (2021-22)

  • Teaching English as a Foreign Language (TEFL)

  • Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL)

About Me

bottom of page